Countdown is on: all the hype and hot-contest of the World Cup of Golf 2018 is in Melbourne this November.

Be in Melbourne this November on our 2018 World Cup of Golf and Sandbelt Tour for all the action of the team-based conquest

The majestic Metropolitan Golf Club will host the unique nation-based World Cup of Golf in November, 2018, the third consecutive time the event has been hosted in the glorious Victorian Sandbelt golf region.

The climatic golfing event has also been at Royal Melbourne in 2013 and Kingston Heath in 2016, both of which are celebrated courses of Sandbelt golf region. In fact, the spectacular Royal Melbourne has played host to the event four times in total.

World Cup organisers noted that 17 of the world’s top-50 golfers, including Adam Scott of Australia, Hideki Matsuyama of Japan and Rickie Fowler of the USA, contested the previous edition.

Adam Scott and Jason Day of Australia won the title in 2013 before Denmark’s Soren Kjeldsen and Thorbjorn Olesen triumphed in 2016.

“The World Cup of Golf has been a celebrated and valued tradition in the game for decades and the PGA Tour is proud to see that tradition continue in 2018 with the best players from around the globe convening at Metropolitan Golf Club,” the tour’s commissioner Jay Monahan said.

“Golf in the sand belt region speaks for itself and we appreciate Metropolitan Golf Club opening its doors for this historic team event.”

The Metropolitan Golf Club is remarkable

More than 100 years since it opened as part of the majestic Sandbelt golf region of Victoria, The Metropolitan GC remains a awe-inspiring.

“It is no exaggeration to say that this course is comparable with anything in the world,” said Peter Thomson on the eve of the 1951 Australian Open at Metropolitan.

How does the World Cup of Golf Work?

Two-man teams representing 28 countries play the tournament as 72-hole stroke play. Day one and three it’s four-ball (best ball), day two and four it’s foursomes (alternate shot).

In the past, the players have competed for prize money totaling $A10.9 million, of which the winners share took $3.4 million.

Previous World Cup of Golf events in Australia:

  • 1959 Australia (Peter Thomson/Kel Nagle)
  • 1972 Chinese Taipei (Hsieh Min-Nan/Lu Liang-Huan)
  • 1988 United States (Ben Crenshaw/Mark McCumber)
  • 2013 Australia (Jason Day/Adam Scott)
  • 2016 Denmark (Soren Kjeldsen/Thorbjorn Olesen).

Join our 2018 World Cup of Golf and Sandbbelt region golf tour

Make sure you’re at the 2018 World Cup of Golf for all the thrills and spills of the nation-based event as the golfing stars battle it out with their countrymen for glory. Plus, our golf tour will take you to play many of the famous Sandbelt golf region’s spectacular courses. Ensure you receive our itinerary when it is released this month: email Kieran Moran of Moran Golf Tours on to register your interest, or visit here for more information.